For Breakfast | Facebook Instagram


North London-based six-piece For Breakfast are set to release the first single from their debut EP titled Songs In the Key of O via Glasshouse Records on March 13th. Today, we have the pleasure of premiering the single ahead of tomorrow’s release. The single is titled ‘Mother’ and it, along with the rest of the EP, was recorded in November 2019 at Shaken Oak Farm, Oxford and was engineered and produced by E&D’s very own Jake Murray. The band is made up of Sam Birkett (bass/backing vocals and also part of the E&D fam), Will Eckersley (drums), Gail Tasker (flute/saxophone), Joe Thompson (guitar), Omar Zaghouani (guitar) and Maya Harrison (vocals/keys).  

“‘Mother’, a paean to adolescent anxiety in the family home, packaged as an infectious post-pop journey through rock and jazz before arriving at the chaotic, motorik dirge that pushes everything to a wonderful level of Alice in Wonderland-like madness.” It’s definitely deceptive in its smooth, laid back start as it gradually grows into this massively incredible wall of sound. The bass line is infectious, the guitar work is wonderful, drumming is powerful and the flute steals the show. 

‘Mother’ will be released for digital download on the 13th of March 2020 via Glasshouse Records’ Bandcamp, website and will be available on most major streaming services. Listen to the single here: 

In support of the single release, For Breakfast will be celebrating with a single launch headline show at The Windmill, Brixton on 19th March. Event details can be found here:


Pin It on Pinterest