Subtle Movements by Surya Botofasina, Nate Mercereau, Carlos Niño

Release date: January 12, 2024
Label: Leaving Records

The name of this collaborative effort of three very individual artists, Surya Botofasina, Nate Mercereau, and Carlos Niño should be a giveaway of what is happening on Subtle Movements, their joint project.

Yes, it is all subtle movements, but those with variety, ranging anywhere from spiritual jazz to modern classical and ambient, with the latter two also being connected with that ‘spiritual’ tag.

And that spiritual connection seems to have bound them together, as the trio first recorded the album in Los Angeles and then played together throughout California, the U.S., and Western Europe (England, The Netherlands, Germany)

As was the case with the album title, the same explicitness can be tied with the opening track here – ‘Inner – connectedness.’ It seems that the three artists achieved it immediately from the first moment and did not depart it until the last second of the recording sessions.

The music here has that organic, natural feel that can only come when musicians fully understand each other and then create an immediate feel of the direction in which they should continue.

It is the same feel this trio of artists infused into their collaboration André 3000 on his album ‘New Blue Sun,’ taking the term ‘spiritual’ on both albums to a new, modern level.

Pin It on Pinterest